Indians lose a close World Series

The 2016 Major League Baseball (MLB) World Series were between the National League champions Chicago Cubs and the American League champions, Cleveland Indians.   

The games were played between Oct. 26 to Nov. 2.

It has been 68 years since the last time the Indians have won the World Series. Last time they were in the MLB championship was in 1997, when they were defeated by the Miami Marlins in game seven.

The Cubs have not been in the world series since 1945, losing to the Detroit Tigers in game seven 9-3.  

The Indians took control of game one when there catcher Roberto Perez, who had not hit good in the postseason hit two homeruns. Jake Arrieta, starting pitcher for Chicago, threw close to a no-hitter. His performance led to Chicago winning game two and tying the series up 1-1.

Game three was an exciting and close matchup. Clevelands pitcher Andrew Miller, who won the MVP of the ALCS, held Chicago scoreless in the 6th inning. The game was tied up until the top of the 7th inning when left fielder, Coco Crisp’s pinch-hit brought in a run to give the Indians a 1-0 lead. Bryan Shaw and Cody Allen came in and finished the Cubs off with a final score of 1-0. Cleveland was now up 2-1, taking the unexpected win at Chicago.

In game four the Cubs took an early 1-0 lead, when first baseman Anthony Rizzo batted in a run. Then the Indians pounced and scored 2 runs. Corey Kluber held the Chicago Cubs until the bottom of the sixth. Kipnis hit a homerun to right field bringing in Crisp and Rajai Davis, making the score to 7-1. Indians were in the lead with a 3-1 record in the series.

Game five was an important game for the Cubs. If they did not pull out a win, the World Series would end, however the Indians took a loss in game five. Cleveland held Chicago 1-0 until the bottom of the 4th when they scored 3 runs, making the score 3-1. The game ended with a closing score of 3-2 Cubs, progressing the series into game six.

Addison Russell, starting shortstop for the Cubs, started game six by contributing to two out of the three runs scored in the first inning. Later in the game Russell hit a grand slam to center, making the game 7-0 by the top of the third inning.

The Indians had their work cut out for them trying to come back from being down seven to nothing. With the help of Arrieta striking out nine Cleveland players, the Cubs took game six sending the series to the deciding game seven.

Dexter Fowler, center fielder for the Cubs started off game seven with a leadoff home run making it 1-0. Crisp then ran into home plate, tieing up the game 1-1 at the bottom of the 3rd.

Kris Bryant, third basemen for the Cubs tagged up and scored. Right after Bryant scored, Willson Contreras who was 1 and 18 during the series for batting, slammed one to the wall bringing in Ben Zobrist and making the score 3-1 Cubs.

The first pitch into the fifth inning, Javier Baez hits a homer to right center making the score 4-1, forcing the Indians to take out starting pitcher Corey Kluber and put in Andrew Miller.

In the bottom of the fifth a wild pitch was thrown to Chicago’s catcher, David Ross and with the time it took him to recover the ball Carlos Santana and Kipnis brought in two runs for the Indians making the score 5-3 Cubs. Ross recovered in the next inning by hitting a homerun to center field. By the 8th inning, the Indians Cubs were tied 6-6. In the 10th inning, Chicago scored two runs, which was enough to hold off Cleveland who only brought in one run.

The Chicago Cubs won their first World Series since 1908 in the 10th inning of game seven with a final score of 8-7.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s